(1) Glenfarclas – Start at the very beginning

So to begin my whisky rediscovery what better place to start on the SMWS list than at number 1.

Glenfarclas

Not a distillery i have been to visit yet. I have passed by a couple of times but its usually en route to other places of interest. It is on my list of tours to visit next year. The tours and especially the Ships Room look amazing.

I know they are a family run business in the heart of speyside. They do not have to please shareholders so can do things the way they want to and produce some great whiskies.

I have had numerous whiskies from this distillery from the 105s to the 15, 17 and 21 year olds, non of them disappoint but i want to revisit this distillery with something a little different.

A 25 year old distillery bottling for Scotch Whisky Auctions 100th Auction.

This limited edition release earlier this year was something that caught my eye as it’s a higher abv 51% than the standard 25 year old of 43%.

Bottled: 2019

Age: 25 Years Old

Cask Type: Oloroso Sherry Butt

51% ABV / 70cl

Bottle Number: One of only 900 bottles released

Nose
old wood and varnish
musty earthy smell – dunnage warehouse?
melon
a good alcohol hit – not too much
Leather
Palate
Dark sugar
Quite sweet
A small hint of christmas spices
Slight smoke
Plum jam
Finish
long chilli spice finish
Oak

Overall this is a very smooth drinkable dram. It didn’t have strong flavours and was very rounded. I am going to add this to the middle shelf as I have had whiskies that i would much prefer to drink on a regular basis. As this is a first pour from the bottle I will revisit this in a few weeks time. I will certainly be getting more bottlings from Glenfarclas, the family cask range has looked very interesting.

I want to bottle a handful of samples to share, if you would like one, are over 18, in the UK and follow me on twitter just DM me that you are interested in the Glenfarclas. I will select a few random folk and get a sample out to you. slàinte

One thought on “(1) Glenfarclas – Start at the very beginning

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started